Monday Make A – Wiccan (Pagan) Prayer Beads

March 29, 2010 at 9:57 am (Beltane, Crafts, Monday, pagan, Peace, Witch)

Wiccan Prayer Beads
Guest Author – Amelia Tucker
From Meetup.comWitches’ Learning Center and Calendar of Events

Using a mnemonic as a way to meditate has been used in spiritualism for eons. as far as we can tell, it began with knotted strings and over time evolved into the Chinese Abacus and then into prayer or meditation beads. By no means were the Catholics the inventor of this soothing ritual. No one knows for sure when man first started using devices to help recite ritual or numbers or to remember a sequence of items ,but prayer beads have a place in every Wiccan’s life.

First, let’s look at why you might use prayer beads. A string of beads is used to help you remember your place in a chant or ritual for example. You string the beads in an arrangement that corresponds to your intent. Then, as you say your prayer, chant, ritual etc., you move the beads through your fingers and they help you keep your place. They also help you meditate on a deeper level because your consciousness is able to relax and not actively work through the list of items you are reciting.

Here are some ideas for Prayer or meditation beads:

A child or beginning Wiccan could make one to represent the Wheel of the year. Each Sabbat could be represented by a bead or trinket that reminds the user of the meaning and this could also include Gods or Goddesses that are representative of your specific deities.

A specific ritual could be formed into a meditation or chanting string. This could include the colors, trinkets, runes that represent your intent. I find this is a meaningful way for me to not only perform my rituals but is a perfect way for me to continue to keep my intent forefront in my mind as I wear my beads. Often, they end up being a bracelet. During my pregnancy, I use a set of beads that I clipped to my keys of all things. This was a nice way for me to take a moment and settle my mind on my strength as a woman while trying to do too much or any other high stress moment. Working the beads was a nice way for me to relax myself and turn inward to reassure my baby that all was well.

A birth

A remembrance

A centering and stress relieving token for you to use when you need to take a moment and find that still place inside. I have a particular set that has runes in it representing my hopes and wishes for my children. I close my eyes and *feel* the section that represents each of them. I also have a part that represents my Uncles. Their strong and loving presence helps me to feel safe and able to handle whatever I feel overwhelmed. I wear this set for any high stress situation and work my way around it to soothe myself.

Fair Use Notice: This page may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. This website distributes this material without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in 17 U.S.C § 107.

Disclaimer: No one involved in this blog or its contents may be held responsible for any adverse reactions arising from following any of the instructions/recipes on this list. It is the reader’s personal responsibility to exercise all precautions and use his or her own discretion if following any instructions or advice from this blog.

Leave a Reply

