Friday Form A Circle – Litha Ritual

May 21, 2010 at 10:15 am (Banish, Circle, Friday, Litha, Magic, Midsummer, pagan, Ritual, Solitary, Witch)

Litha Ritual
From
Garden of the Midnight Moonchild

Shield 
Envision a spiral blaze of sparks from a comet’s tail.

"Protect this child and guard her aim
from any evil, harm, or bane."

Center 
When ready, step into your ritual space.
Cast Circle Envision the same comet tail that formed your shield at the tip of your hand, wand, or athame as you cast from your projective hand beginning at the southern quarter and moving deosil (clockwise).

"Now mystify midsummer magic and satisfy midsummer charms.
Midsummer power charge my spirit waxing as the summer warms."

Call Quarters Facing south

"Flames of the midsummer bonfire. Heat of the midsummer sun. Heart of the midsummer starlight. Your purity holds me guides and enfolds me. Welcome Spirit of Fire to my rite."

light the red candle.
Call Quarters Facing west

"Cascading midsummer rivers. Powerful midsummer tides.
Wellspring of midsummer delights. Your empathy holds me
guides and enfolds me. Welcome Spirit of Water to my rite."

light the blue candle.
Call Quarters Facing north

"Towering midsummer mountains. Fertile the midsummer field.
Unyielding midsummer earth-might. Stability holds me guides and enfolds me. Welcome Spirit of Earth to my rite."

light the green candle.
Call Quarters facing east

"Wind of midsummer sirocco. Midsummer mantle of life. Breath of the midsummer twilight. Your clarity holds me guides and enfolds me. Welcome Spirit of Air to my rite."

light the yellow candle.
Invoke the Sun raising projective hand in the symbol of the sun (first finger and Little finger extended, like horns, other fingers folded beneath thumb)

"Midsummer Sun King of wisdom and might. The power of summer and life at its height. Your energy holds me guides and enfolds me. Welcome Sun King to my rite."

light the gold candle
Invoke the Moon raising receptive hand in the symbol of the moon (hold your whole hand in a "c" shape like the crescent moon)

"Midsummer Mother. Queen of the night. The power of magic
fulfilled in moonlight. Your spirit holds me guides and enfolds me.
Welcome Midsummer Queen to my rite."

light the silver candle
Invoke your Guardian Invoke your Guardian tracing a pentagram in the air before you with your hand, wand, or athame

"Spirit within me empower me now with your charge. Stir midsummer memories. Rouse midsummer mysteries. Awaken midsummer magic. Guide me, hold me, teach me, enfold me.
My hands in yours. Your heart in mine. Be with me now."

light the incense
Complete the circle with your purpose sit or stand as you please

"The circle is cast and we stand between the worlds
beyond the bounds of time. Joy and sorrow, day and night,
The past and tomorrow, death and life meet here as one.
Blessed be. "I come now between the worlds to celebrate the power of love, the power of midsummer, and the power of magic with this turn of he wheel."

Light the Cauldron candle.

"No longer day shall turn. No brighter candle burn. No wish shall be denied on this midsummer night."

Take the candle which represents your self and carve your name and any appropriate symbols upon it. Anoint it with your favorite scent, stub to wick, and light it from the cauldron candle

"I am (say your name). The power of light is mine. The power of midsummer is mine."

Set that candle in a holder and take the candle which represents your trouble and carve the name of your trouble and any appropriate symbols upon it. Anoint this candle with saltwater, wick to stub, and light it from the cauldron candle.

"You are my trouble. You are (name your trouble). I banish you and now… you are gone."

When the trouble candle burns past your carvings blow it out as you say "you are gone" and wrap that candle stub (to be buried off your property) in a mixture of salt and sand.

Now take the candle which represents your desire and carve the name of your desire and any appropriate symbols upon it. Anoint it with your favorite scent, stub to wick, and light it from the cauldron candle.

"I am (say your name). I come between the worlds with my desire. My desire is (name your desire). All powers that be, grant me this desire. Harming none, this be done."

Watch this candle burn, holding your desire firmly in your mind, until this candle burns out of it’s own accord.

"On Midsummer all desires are granted."

Wrap this candle stub, along with your "self" candle stub, in soil and sand and bury them somewhere on your property where they will remain undisturbed.

"Now it is done with no reverse to bring upon me any curse."

Ground (touch something from the earth with your projective hand, or just feel the excess energy drain from your body back through your feet to replenish the earth below you)

Simple Feast: Herbal tea or Fruity Juice and fruits from whatever summer bounty is available and freshest. Make liquid offerings to the elements. Thank the Guardian Make the sign of the pentagram with smoke from the incense stick (if it is still burning) or trace it in the air before you with your wand, or hand

"Spirit within my spirit, my thanks for the blessing of your attendance at my simple and solitary rite. Stay or go as you shall please. Hail and farewell."

Thank the Moon raising your receptive hand in the symbol of the moon (hold your whole hand in a "c" shape like the crescent moon)

"Queen of the midsummer night, my thanks for the blessing of your attendance. Stay or go as you shall please. Hail and farewell."

quench the silver candle
Thank the Sun raising your projective hand in the symbol of the sun (first finger and Little finger extended, like horns, other fingers folded beneath thumb)

"Mighty midsummer King, my thanks for the blessing of your attendance. Stay or go as you shall please. Hail and farewell."

quench the gold candle
Thank the Quarters taking the appropriate positions as you thank and release them and quench their candles as you bid them farewell.

"Midsummer winds of clarity, Spirit of Air. Midsummer stones stability, Spirit of Earth. Midsummer tides of empathy, Spirit of Water. Midsummer flames of purity, Spirit of Fire. My thanks for your attending me. Stay or go as you shall please. Hail and farewell, and blessed be."

Release the Circle beginning at the Southern quarter and moving widdershins (counterclockwise) draw the energy into your receptive hand, wand or athame. When you have finished re-calling the energy, compress it into a little version of the comet you started with in your receptive hand and absorb it into your body.

"The circle is open yet still unbroken. Merry met, and merry part, and merry meet again."

Ground (touch something from the earth with your projective hand, or just feel the excess energy drain from your body back through your feet to replenish the earth below you)

Disclaimer: No one involved in this blog or its contents may be held responsible for any adverse reactions arising from following any of the instructions/recipes on this list. It is the reader’s personal responsibility to exercise all precautions and use his or her own discretion if following any instructions or advice from this blog.

Fair Use Notice: This page may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. This website distributes this material without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. We believe this constitutes a fair use of any such copyrighted material as provided for in 17 U.S.C § 107.

Leave a Reply

